Skip to main content
Search Mobile Navigation

Units of Study Resources / Jump Rope Readers

Fiction and Nonfiction Decodable Books

Help Beginning Readers Develop Foundational Word Recognition Skills

Use this formative assessment as a quick but effective way to determine what word reading skills to teach next

Staircase Flyer thumbnail

View a sample phonics progression
for the Green series

The Jump Rope Readers are a series of engaging and diverse decodable books that captivate beginning readers.

Each fiction book introduces new phonics features and high-frequency words to help students build skills. After kids have read several fiction books, they can read a matching set of nonfiction books that give them opportunities to practice the same words and letter-sound correspondences while learning about new content in a new genre.

Together, all of the Jump Rope Readers provide lots of supportive practice that allows students to gradually improve their skills as they step up towards the ultimate goal of reading confidently and fluently.